Trials and Tribulations of an Event Manger

All jobs have those lovely ‘I could bang my head off of a brick wall moments!’

In my industry the 6 P’s philosophy certainly is the one to live by – Proper Preparation Prevents Piss Poor Performance – but sadly even then it does not always go to plan ūüė¶

The Brief

Do you know what they want to achieve from the event? Do they have an idea in mind that they wish to share with their guests?

This is the time when we try to establish the who, what, why, when and where. Now, in corporate land, my instruction comes from my Director Рthis leaves an awful lot of guess work. So the below follows.

Request –

‘I want to take 15 couples some where hot, I want to spend XX amount of money, I want the trip¬†to last for 2 days and I want this to be a trip that they would not or could not experience on their own.’

Several locations are then investigated and costed, along with excursions over the 4 days – but not too many as guests do like to have free time – staying within budget and allowing a little financial wiggle room for misc costs.

Response –

‘… that’s not quite what I had in mind – how about Barcelona¬†in December or Edinburgh in February?’

OK – so back to the drawing board, he asked for guaranteed weather so maybe we need to look at a date between¬†June & August or maybe the weather is less of an issue now and he likes these dates. He shrugs his shoulders – he doesn’t know. My director is 100% unreachable, catch him in the office or wait until next month!

So research starts again, 2 options pulled together one covering the original ‘hot’ request and one using the December and Feb requests in the locations suggested.

Where did the group go?

‘I want to take 15 couples some where hot, I want to spend XX amount of money, I want the trip¬†to last for 2 days and I want this to be a trip that they would not or could not experience on their own’

Became

8 couples, Iceland, October XXXX amount of money, 4 days and excursions that everyone and their mother are travelling too.

Almost the same … right?

The Guest List

We are delighted to invite Mr and Mrs J Smith to join us for a couples trip ….

Responses –

Can I bring my colleague instead? … Awkward – each to their own!

Can a few of the lads from the office¬†come instead, they love a jolly? … Not sure if that would work on a couples trip.

No response, no response, no response … Sorry I didn’t receive the¬†letter, email, text, voice-mail or the message you have left with my PA over the past 2 months. Can you resend the invitation? … We can’t make it … FML – smiles politely.¬†

Day of Event

After being asked for any dietary requirements at least 3 times, an hour before lunch,¬†‘did I mention I am gluten intolerant, that won’t be an issue will it?’

I didn’t notice on the 15 email communications or the event website that you had put in large letters ACCOMMODATION PROVIDED¬†so I booked a hotel down the road.

Some random fellow you have never heard of turns up because XX gave him his place on the trip.

 

…….

 

Leave a Reply

